(Ph)ood


14-Layer Cake with Chocolate Frosting and Berries
September 7, 2010, 3:17 pm
Filed under: Cakes, Desserts | Tags: , ,

When I was in graduate school people would often ask me what I study.  I would proudly tell them that I study obesity and type 2 diabetes and how both relate to physical inactivity.  Typically, I would receive the same response from people: “Oh that’s wonderful and so important.  If you ever need a subject to study you can study me.”  In reality, two out of three people are probably correct when they say “you can study me.”  Did you know that 66% of the United States is overweight or obese?  Or that poor- or over-nutrition and physical inactivity are two huge contributing factors to this epidemic?  Sorry, we can’t blame our genetics on everything.  I mention this because I feel like I’m partly to blame.  My favorite foods to make are desserts and I share these things with as many people as I can – coworkers, neighbors, friends, and family.  I don’t just share them with those in Philly, but with those all over the place such as NYC, LA, Port Hueneme, CA, Akron, OH, and Columbus, OH.  So naturally, my very first true post is an obesity- and diabetes-inducing dessert.

14-Layer Cake (Adapted from Bakerella and Oprah)

Now would be a good time to note that the large majority of things that I make I find on other blogs.  I will always give credit to the original, but think of my posts as weeding out the best (both spectacular looking and tasting) recipes that I come across.

Using aluminum foil pans was one of the greatest ideas of this recipe.  Instead of dragging out the baking process all day, buying (and reusing) these pans saved time and money.  They were greased with butter and lined with parchment paper.  The cake layers were cooked 3 at a time at 350 degrees for ~12 minutes.  They come out of the oven looking like pancakes.

The glaze for the layers was very simple and consisted of cocoa, evaporated milk, butter, and sugar.  After preparing the glaze, it was as simple as alternating layers of cake with several tablespoons of the chocolate glaze. This was a very messy process and suggest having a wire rack and pan to catch the deliciously oozing warm chocolate glaze.  As you your cake gets more and more impressive (i.e. taller) keep an eye out for runaway cake layer because once the glaze solidifies there is no moving the cake. Continue to layer with all 14 cakes and spread the remaining chocolate on the top and sides.

The dried cake should look something like this:

While the glaze is drying, prepare the chocolate buttercream frosting.  I made a milk chocolate frosting, but in hindsight I wish I would have made a dark chocolate frosting like is shown on Bakerella.  I think the rich taste of dark chocolate is so much better than milk chocolate.  Regardless, the frosting tastes incredible!  Spread the frosting all over the cake and give it a very smooth and professional  look.  Garnish with fruit and serve.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

