(Ph)ood


Tomato Soup Cupcakes with Mascarpone Frosting
October 14, 2010, 3:08 pm
Filed under: Cheese, Cupcake, Desserts | Tags: , , , , ,

Ever take a chance with a new food?  Something exotic perhaps?  I’ve had the opportunity to try a few unique foods in my day.  As an undergrad I worked in a lab and was introduced to the idea of trying bugs.  I agreed and was served a sauteed bug of some sort on a saltine cracker and served with cheese whiz. Honestly, the bug was not so bad compared to the accompanying cheese whiz!  Unfortunately for you, my gross food experiences do not end there.  While in grad school in Missouri I attended a “Testicle Festival” where I feasted on fried bull, pig, and rooster testicles.  They were served with Busch beer which made it much better (I think? By the way, the cuisine matched the ambiance).  On a cruise to the Caribbean I feasted on escargot, not once, but twice.  Not so bad, but a little too salty for my tastes.  Lastly, I just recently tried foie gras at Village Whiskey, a Jose Garces-owned restaurant here in Philly.  The foie gras was served as a topping of part of their “Whiskey King” burger, which also includes maple bourbon glazed cipollini, rogue blue cheese and applewood bacon.  It was an incredible burger and may have finally ended my quest to find the best burger in Philly (runners-up include the Rouge burger and the Good Dog burger).  The burger was enjoyed with duck fat fries served with sly fox-cheddar sauce, a nice pale ale and good company in Saoirse Owens.  My recent revival of food adventure had subsequently led me to my most recent post, tomato soup cupcakes with mascarpone frosting.

Don’t deny it, the title of this post makes you queezy just as much as the thought of consuming any of my other food adventures.  Cupcakes seem to be the latest fad in food.  They are everywhere – stores, shops and even trucks and carts.  There are elaborate cupcakes that are decorated so much that they don’t even look like cupcakes anymore and there are cupcakes that are as simple as vanilla cake with vanilla frosting.  For the most part I really don’t care for cupcakes anymore than I care for cookies, they’re good but alas just another treat.  Furthermore, I think people are so enamored with the fancy fondant decorations that some cupcakes (and cakes) display that they forget about what is important, the cupcake (Besides, anyone who has ever had fondant knows it tastes gross)!  That is why I found this cupcake so intriguing. The focus was entirely on the flavors of the cupcake and frosting and nothing more.  I found this recipe in a cookbook called “Baked Explorations” by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.  It can be found on their website, “Baked,” but also here and here.  The cupcake was as easy as any other cupcake to make and the taste was incredible, not so much tomato as perhaps pumpkin or carrotcake.  And the mascarpone frosting?  It was icing on the cake, er, cupcake.

So try something new.  Try these cupcakes.  I dare you!

Tomato Soup Cupcakes with Mascarpone Frosting (from “Baked Explorations“)

Who would have thought you could make cupcakes from tomato soup?!  I wonder who deserves the credit?  The cupcakes have some pretty standard ingredients (eggs, unsalted butter, flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, sugar, light brown sugar) as well as ingredients which make this cupcake what it is, awesome (condensed tomato soup, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg).   I wasn’t going to share this recipe since I got it out of a cookbook, but lucky for you I found it here so I’ll elaborate on the recipe.

When I started this recipe I imagined these cupcakes being more red than they actually turned out. I mean, look at that tomato soup!  As I slowly combined ingredients it was starting to look more and more like a pumpkin pie-type batter (and would later use the same analogy for its taste).

Putting the ingredients together was honestly the most difficult part and compared to other things I’ve prepared for this blog, even that was easy.  All that was left to do was to distribute the batter into the cupcake pan and bake at 325 degrees for 28 minutes.  Here is the what they look like after 28 minutes in the oven:

After baking the cupcakes cooled and I prepared the mascarpone frosting.  Softened unsalted butter, mascarpone cheese, confectioners sugar and vanilla.  The recipe says to top the cupcakes with a mound of frosting, but it seemed excessive to me so I generously spread it atop the cupcakes.  If, even after realizing how amazing these cupcakes taste, you cannot eat them all be sure to refrigerate them in a sealed container.  Let them return to room temperature before enjoying again.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love the blog! And did you get your own Kitchen Aid mixer? Congrats on that if you caved in and bought one…

Comment by Amanda Makulec

Don’t you have better things to do like cure cancer, stop diabetes, or at least root for Mizzou. Look forward to seeing what sort of crazy stuff you cook up. Meghan and I miss the culinary exploration that US supermarkets allow (Danish supermarkets suck).

Comment by Matt




Leave a Reply

