(Ph)ood


These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things
January 7, 2011, 3:49 pm
Filed under: Appetizer, Desserts, Dinner | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2010 was a great year.  I accomplished a few of my goals, one being creating this blog, and was able to cook a lot more than I have in the past.  Overall, living in Philadelphia is awesome.  There is plenty to do, see, eat and drink.  God forbid you actually want to get out of the city for a bit, New York City and Washington, D.C. is just a 2+ hour Megabus/Boltbus ride away.  Like I always mention, Philly has awesome restaurants and food stores and markets.  In reflection of my 2010 eating experiences I thought I would make a few of my favorite things: Royal Palm Dates from Alma de Cuba, Crab Cakes from DiBruno Bros and Salted Caramel Budino from Barbuzzo.  They do not necessarily reflect my favorite restaurants in the city, but each represents  something I highly recommend if you happen to stumble upon them.

As for 2011, I plan to share more of the same as well as some of my food experiences outside of the kitchen as well as the people I share them with.   I will try my best to stay consistent with the blog postings (hopefully each Sunday).  Furthermore, I have big things planned for my blog which I hope to show you all in a couple months.  Happy 2011!

Royal Palm Dates (adapted from Alma de Cuba)

There was no actual recipe to follow for these, so I had to use my memory and a few pictures from the internet to create them.  From my internet search, it looks like these are a fairly common appetizer, although it didn’t look like too many used blue cheese and endive leaves as well.  The almond skins must be removed and can be easily done by blanching in boiling water.  Stuff 1-2 almonds in each pitted date, wrap in 1/3 slice of bacon, and bake in oven for 12-15 minutes at 400 degrees Fahrenheit.  In  a bowl, mix sliced almonds with thinly sliced red onion and blue cheese.  Place a heap of this mixture on each endive leaf, add the bacon-wrapped date, and top with a little melted blue cheese.  Yum!

Crab Cakes with Spicy Aioli Sauce (Adapted from DiBruno Bros)

DiBruno Brothers has some pretty rad pre-made food selections (in addition to their other store selections) for those days you really have no desire to cook.  Although its hard to go wrong, I recommend the crab cakes with aioli sauce.  They are unbelievable!  I made these for my parents on new year’s eve and my dad said they were as good as any he has ever had (That’s a compliment, right?).  As for the spicy aioli sauce, it was more or less my own recipe: 1 pint mayonnaise, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper, 1 small jar roasted red peppers (blended), and hot sauce, salt, pepper to taste.

Salted Caramel Budino (Recipe from Barbuzzo)

Welcome to the best dessert in the city.  This isn’t merely my opinion, but apparently the opinion of others.  Up to this point, if there was one thing you had to get/make in Philly/my blog, it would be this dessert.  It’s that unreal.  It’s easy to make and just as easy to order.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

