(Ph)ood


Penne with Arrabiata Sauce
January 31, 2011, 9:11 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Pasta | Tags: , , , , ,

 

Judging from my lack of posts you might guess that I’ve been busy lately.   I swear the days are getting shorter and my schedule longer.  The longer I live in Philadelphia, the more I’ve become, well, “Philadelphian.”  Although I’m almost positive most cities have a similar characterization, and therefore making my argument moot, people in Philadelphia always seem to be in a huge rush.  Cars, buses, cabs and even pedestrians go zooming passed everyday.  Where are these people going?  Are they running late to their destination?  Super busy? Or, do they have the next great idea and are on their way to develop that idea (after all, Philly was recently named a hub for creative activity)? Who knows, but if you don’t keep up or get out of their way they’re going to let you know about it with honking horns and dirty looks. I, by no means, am a daily exception.  I think we all have our moments.  To combat my “moments” and avoid the daily rush I’ve tapped a very underutilized resource, namely, 5 to 7AM.  I use this time to exercise, usually to swim, bike or run, and to read email as well as the news.  The result is a very invigorating and productive morning, eager and able to tackle the next phases of my day. For those of you who say “no way!” to 5am, then organization and efficiency of the back end of the day is a must.  To help you out, I present this post, “Penne with Arrabiata Sauce” as a quick, easy and delicious dinner that you can fit into your daily rush.

Penne with Arrabiata Sauce (from my Mom)

This sauce has four user-friendly ingredients: tomatoes, olive oil, garlic and red pepper flakes.  I admit that I’ve never used fresh tomatoes in this recipe, but I’ll defend myself by saying that making this sauce is made on a “I’m-too-tired/busy-to-put-any-effort-into-my-cooking” kind of day and having a can of tomatoes stored away in my cupboard is easier than timing the use of fresh tomatoes.

The recipe: Warm a medium-sized pan over medium heat and add two tablespoons of olive oil.  While the olive oil warms, mince two cloves of garlic.  Add the garlic and let cook for one minute.  Add as much or as little red pepper flakes as you like.  My mom’s recipe calls for 1/2 teaspoon, but I typically add 1-2 teaspoons.  Cook until the garlic begins to brown.  Add the 15 ounce can of peeled, whole tomatoes as well as any liquid component that accompanies the tomatoes.  Stir the tomatoes in with the olive oil mixture.  Cut the tomatoes into thirds or quarters.  Add a few fresh basil leaves or a teaspoon of dried basil.  Allow the sauce to simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.   As the sauce simmers, the tomatoes will soften and they can be chopped into smaller pieces if desired.  Add 1 pound cooked penne to the sauce, stirring to incorporate the sauce amongst the noodles.  Add fresh mozzarella, serve and enjoy!

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

