(Ph)ood


Roquefort Cheese-Stuffed Burgers with Caramelized Onions on a Toasted Brioche Bun
March 25, 2011, 9:54 am
Filed under: Dinner, Red Meat | Tags: , , , , , ,

At the beginning of 2010 I told myself that I was going to create the perfect burger.  After quite a few attempts throughout January and February I had had enough red meat to last me the remainder of the year.  My stomach, and I’m sure my cholesterol, were relieved.  Although I decided to put my goal on hold did not mean I could not test and find the best burgers of the chefs/restaurants of Philadelphia.  To date, the best burgers are found at Village Whiskey, Rouge, Good Dog, Butcher & Singer, Pub and Kitchen and 500 degrees.  The best by far is at Village Whiskey.  Their signature burger, the Whiskey King, is out of this world, but even their most basic burger is fantastic.  I find the Village Whiskey and Butcher & Singer burgers to be upscale-good, but for a more neighborhood-good burger I love the Good Dog Burger.  It’s a roquefort cheese-stuffed burger with lettuce and tomato served with sweet potato fries.  It is well prepared, unique and delicious.  The personality of the burger fits with the ambiance of the Good Dog Bar – chill, relaxed and comforting.

Roquefort Cheese-Stuffed Burgers with Caramelized Onions on a Toasted Brioche Bun (adapted from Good Dog Bar and Restaurant)

Since I find the Good Dog burger so enjoyable I wanted to re-create it myself.  It’s creation in my kitchen is based on my recollection of my Good Dog experience, the small details I noticed while enjoying burgers at other places and what I have read about burgers on various blogs.  The first thing that came to my attention was the composition of the burger.  It appears that restaurants never just buy ground beef, make burger patties and then throw them on the grill.  Their meat is a combination of several cuts of beef.  I used short rib, brisket and chuck (75/25 meat-to-fat blend).  I asked the butcher at the store to ground all of these and when I returned home I mixed them together.  The second thing I learned was to minimize the amount of time you handle your meat.  I made a fairly good sized ball of meat and stuffed some Roquefort cheese in the middle. Thirdly, make the burgers 3/4 inches thick.  Fourth, using your thumb make an indentation at the center of the burger.  Doing so prevents the burger from bulging at the center and reduces the temptation to press down on the burger and consequently push the moisture  out of the meat.  Fifth, if you are preparing many burgers sear each side of each burger and just before serving put the burgers over the grill and finish cooking.  Lastly, it seemed that most burgers in the city serve their burgers on toasted brioche buns.  I did the same.  I had some trouble finding a place to buy these, but fortunately I lucked out and found some at Le Pain Quotidien.  I think in the future I will make my own brioche buns as these were smaller than I preferred.  I served these with some sweet potato fries and some cold beers.  Delicious!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Brioche and English muffins are my favorite substitutions for the generic hamburger bun. This looks awesome. Now I want a burger!

Comment by Evann

Thanks Evann! Have you tried that beet pasta yet with the (dreaded) corriander seeds?

Comment by Scott Naples




Leave a Reply

